Palestina: Giornata di mobilitazione in Italia e nel mondo contro l’annessione della Cisgiordania allo stato di apartheid di di Israele


Ascolta la Dichiarazione di Alberto Negri

e di Moni Ovadia





Lettera congiunta di 1.080 parlamentari di 25 Paesi Europei

a governi e leader europei

contro l’annessione da parte di Israele della Cisgiordania

23 Giugno 2020

More than 1,000 parliamentarians from across Europe have signed a letter strongly opposing plans by Israel to annex parts of the occupied West Bank.

The letter raises “serious concerns” about the proposals and calls for “commensurate consequences”.

More than 240 signatories are legislators in Britain. The Israeli embassy in London declined to comment.

The publication of the letter in several newspapers comes a week before the annexation process could begin.

According to a power-sharing deal which led to the formation of the current Israeli government last month, annexation can be put to a vote from 1 July.

The project is being led by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who is seeking to extend Israeli sovereignty over parts of the West Bank containing Jewish settlements.

If passed, the move could incorporate up to 30% of the territory – land claimed by Palestinians for a future independent state of their own.

Israel’s incorporation of the settlements was given the green light under US President Donald Trump’s Vision for Peace – a plan for ending the decades old Israel-Palestinian conflict unveiled in January.

‘Fatal to prospects of peace’

The letter, sent to European foreign ministries, warns that unilateral annexation of West Bank territory could be “fatal to the prospects of Israeli-Palestinian peace and will challenge the most basic norms guiding international relations”.

It is a sign of growing international pressure over the proposals which stem from President Trump’s plan for the region, says the BBC’s Tom Bateman in Jerusalem.

The letter, signed by 1,080 parliamentarians from 25 countries, warns of the “destabilising potential” for the region.

Its British signatories include the Conservative Party’s former leader Lord Howard, former EU commissioner Lord Patten and Baroness Pauline Neville-Jones, a former counter-terrorism minister who previously chaired the UK’s Joint Intelligence Committee.

It is also signed by 35 members of Labour’s current front bench, including shadow foreign secretary Lisa Nandy.

The former Labour leader Lord Kinnock is a signatory, as is former defence secretary and Nato chief Lord Robertson, as well as the Labour MP Dame Margaret Hodge who campaigned against anti-Semitism in the party.

European names on the list include France’s security subcommittee chair, Nathalie Loiseau, Vice-President of the European Parliament Fabio Massimo Castaldo, and Ireland’s next Prime Minister, Míchéal Martin.

‘Permanent control’

The letter was organised by a former speaker of the Israeli parliament, Avraham Burg, along with three other public figures in Israel among those who have traditionally supported the so-called two-state solution of a Palestinian state in the West Bank alongside Israel.

It says President Trump’s plan promotes “effectively permanent Israeli control over a fragmented Palestinian territory, leaving Palestinians with no sovereignty and giving a green light to Israel to unilaterally annex significant parts of the West Bank”.

Map of the West Bank settlements
Presentational white space

It warns that allowing annexation to pass “unchallenged” would encourage other states with territorial claims to “disregard basic principles of international law”. It stops short of explicitly calling for sanctions against Israel if the move takes place.

‘Realistic’ solution

Israel’s ambassador to Washington Ron Dermer wrote on Friday that Israel “plans to extend sovereignty to territories that will remain part of Israel in any realistic peace agreement” .

He said Israel would not include territory the Trump plan designates for a future Palestinian state and would commit not to build settlements in those areas in the coming years.

Israel and the US describe the plan as a “realistic” two-state solution.

Mr Dermer added: “We hope it will convince the Palestinians that another century of rejectionism is a losing strategy and that the Jewish state is here to stay.”

The Palestinians oppose the Trump plan outright and have boycotted diplomatic relations with the US.

Some 430,000 Jews live in over 130 settlements (and scores of smaller “outposts”) built since Israel occupied the West Bank in the 1967 Middle East war.

The settlements are widely considered illegal under international law, though Israel – and the US under the Trump administration – denies this.






I firmatari italiani della Lettera congiunta di 1.080 parlamentari di 25 Paesi Europei

a governi e leader europei

contro l’annessione da parte di Israele della Cisgiordania

23 Giugno 2020

  1. Senator Alberto Airola, M5S, Italy

  2. Senator Alessandro Alfieri, PD, Italy

  3. Tiziana Beghin, Nonattached Membert, European Parliament (Italy)

  4. Brando Benifei, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  5. Laura Boldrini, Former President of the Chamber of Deputies, PD, Italy

  6. Senator Laura Bottici, M5S, Italy

  7. Senator Maurizio Buccarella, Mixed Group, Italy

  8. Fabio Massimo Castaldo, Vice-President of the European Parliament, Non-attached Membert, European Parliament (Italy)

  9. Lucia Ciampi, PD, Italy

  10. Ignazio Corrao, Non-attached Member, European Parliament (Italy)

  11. Andrea Cozzolino, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  12. Senator Stefania Gabriella Anastasia Craxi, Forza Italia, Italy

  13. Rosa D’Amato, Nonattached Member, European Parliament (Italy)

  14. Yana Chiara Ehm, M5S, Italy

  15. Stefano Fassina, Liberi e Uguali, Italy

  16. Giuseppe Ferrandino, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  17. Senator Gianluca Ferrara, M5S, Italy

  18. Chiara Gribaudo, PD, Italy

  19. Elisabetta Gualmini, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  20. Senator Alessandra Maiorino, M5S, Italy

  21. Pierfrancesco Majorino, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  22. Francesca La Marca, PD, Italy

  23. Senator Giovanni Marilotti, M5S, Italy

  24. Alessandra Moretti, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  25. Senator Riccardo Nencini, Italia Viva – PSI, Italy

  26. Riccardo Olgiati, M5S, Italy

  27. Matteo Orfini, PD, Italy

  28. Alberto Pagani, PD, Italy

  29. Erasmo Palazzotto, Liberi e Uguali, Italy

  30. Luca Pastorino, Liberi e Uguali, Italy

  31. Mario Perantoni, M5S, Italy

  32. Senator Vito Rosario Petrocelli, Chairman Committee on Foreign Affairs and Emigration, M5S, Italy

  33. Giuditta Pini, PD, Italy

  34. Giuliano Pisapia, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  35. Lia Quartapelle, PD, Italy

  36. Fausto Raciti, PD, Italy

  37. Senator Roberto Rampi, PD, Italy

  38. Franco Roberti, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  39. Senator Alessandro Ruotolo, Mixed Group, Italy

  40. Doriana Sarli, M5S, Italy

  41. Lucia Scanu, M5S, Italy

  42. Massimiliano Smeriglio, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  43. Simona Suriano, M5S, Italy

  44. Patrizia Toia, S&D, European Parliament (Italy)

  45. Massimo Ungaro, Italy Viva, Italy

  46. Diego Zardini, PD, Italy

Views: 513


Lascia il primo commento

Lascia un commento

L'indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato.


Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.